healthyhappyhelping

Food in Russia: what's hot in a cold country

Sweet & Sour, Russian Style

This is by far my favorite way of eating tvorog. It’s so simple, I don’t even think I should write about it. But I love that combination so much and I highly suggest you give it a try.

Cranberry+flax

You only need 3 ingredients and proportions are precise (“just like the drugstore”, as we say in Russian). That’s for one portion:

200g tvorog

30g honey (1.5 tbsp. I guess?)

100g fresh or frozen lingonberries

Options for those who don’t have access to Russian delicacies:

  • You can use quark instead of tvorog, I sometimes use it too. Not much difference in taste. How ‘bout cottage cheese? If it’s not salty, you can try (at your own risk).
  • Cranberries work very well instead of lingonberries. Yes, we have them in Russia too. And they are sour here.

As you have everything on hand, you just blend it until nice and creamy – and it’s ready. Eat it in the evening like Dmitry Klokov or have it earlier in the day with a cup of coffee (I like my coffee not only with apples).

If you want to get a little fancier, you can add 1 tbsp. of ground flax seeds to this mixture. It adds nice nutty taste and thickens the mix. Just let it stay for some time so the seeds get softer.

P.S. Do you know anything about lingonberries? I guess I need to write another post in my Russian Superfood serie about these gifts of northern forests.

One comment on “Sweet & Sour, Russian Style

  1. Pingback: About Lingonberries + Quick and Simple “Jam” recipe | healthyhappyhelping

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2013 by in Russian Recipes, Russian Superfoods and tagged , .
